The current position : Home page > Modern Urban District
Modern Urban District
updated on: 2021-07-01

Honggutan District

Located at the north bank of Ganjiang River, Honggutan District is a new urban district set up by Nanchang Municipal Party Committee and Municipal Government for expanding urban scale and building the urban development pattern of “One River Two Banks”. Established in 2002, Honggutan New District was an agency dispatched by Nanchang Municipal Government. Then, with the approval by the State Council, Honggutan District was founded for administrative division in 2020. At present, the District has permanent population of over 600 thousand and regional area of about 175 square kilometers. The provincial and municipal administrative centers are both in Honggutan District. The District focuses on the development of such industries as financial service, VR, digital economy, headquarters economy, trade and cultural tourism.

Donghu District

Donghu District is located in the northeast of the heroic city Nanchang, with Fuhe River in the west and Ganjiang River in the north, and it is named for the famous scenic lake in the District—Donghu Lake. It covers a total area of 56.95 square kilometers, and the main urban area is 18.35 square kilometers. It administers one town (Yangzizhou Town), 9 sub-district offices (Bayiqiao Sub-district Office, Yuzhang Sub-district Office, Dunzitang Sub-district Office, Baihuazhou Sub-district Office, Gongyuan Sub-district Office, Dayuan Sub-district Office, Dongjiayao Sub-district Office, Pengjiaqiao Sub-district Office and Tengwangge Sub-district Office) and two management offices (Xianshihu Management Office and Yangnong Management Office). It has 21 administrative villages, 110 communities and 17 household committees, with permanently population of 536 thousand, and population density of 9411 persons/square kilometer, and it is the urban district with the highest population density in Nanchang City.

Xihu District

Xihu District is the central urban district and old urban district of Nanchang City, with regional area of 35.3 square kilometers and permanent population of 514 thousand, and administers Taohua Town and 11 sub-district offices. The comprehensive economic strength of Xihu District ranks in the first matrix of the province, and it is the first urban district with fiscal revenue exceeding ten billion yuan in the province, and the second county (city/district) with fiscal revenue exceeding ten billion yuan in the province. In the ranking of the economic and social development index of 100 counties (cities/districts) in the province, Xihu ranks in the third place. In 2020, Xihu District was awarded “2019 Advanced County (City/District) for High-quality Development”, “One of the 4th Top10 Optimized Business Environment Districts in the Province”, one of the first batch of “Demonstration Districts for the Construction of ‘Five-type’ Government (Loyalty, Innovation, Responsibility, Service, and Excellence) in the Province”, and “Provincial Comprehensive Advanced Unit for Open Economy from 2017 to 2019”.

Qingyunpu District

Qingyunpu District locates at the south of Nanchang, and is named for the “Qingyunpu Monastery” (now Ba Da Shan Ren Memorial) in the District. It has been reputed as “the resort in south city and the immortal island on the earth”. It has regional area of about 43.2 square kilometers, and administers 5 sub-district offices, 1 town and 1 new economy industrial agglomeration area. The District has a total population of about 330 thousand. It boasts solid industrial foundation, and the first aircraft of new China, the first roller tractor, the first motorcycle and the first coastal defense missile were born here. It has profound cultural deposits, having cultivated a great number of historical and cultural celebrities like Ba Da Shan Ren, Guan Ying, Wang Dayuan, Mei Ru’ao, and etc. It has beautiful ecological scenery, Xianghu and Meihu Scenic Areas are situated here, and the greening coverage rate of the District reaches 43.7%. It boasts complete industrial system and increasingly prosperous trade service, cultural service and intelligent logistics.

Qingshanhu District

Qingshanhu District is situated at the east of Nanchang City, with regional area of about 127 square kilometers and population of about one million. It has developed river and lake water system and beautiful scenery, reputed as the “space of beauty, heaven of birds and paradise of people”. Qingshanhu District in the new era focuses on socio-economic development, facilitates the strong industrial development driven by such three major industries as modern knitwear and textile, electronic information and modern service industry, energize the innovative and vigorous development with flow economy, night economy and building economy, and has successively won more than 200 honors like one of National Top100 Districts for Sci-tech Innovation, one of National Top100 Districts for Investment Potential, one of National Top100 Districts for Industry, and so on. With the settlement of East High-speed Railway Station, Qingshanhu District is further seeking for transformation, facilitating upgrading, and boosting the combination of central urban area, high-tech zone and high-speed new area.

Xinjian District

Xinjian District is situated at the midnorth of Jiangxi and the west bank of the lower reach of Ganjiang River. It is a “thousand-year ancient town” gathering talents, the “tourist attraction” with beautiful scenery”, and “a land flowing with milk and honey” enjoying a good fame along the shore of Poyang Lake. Since it was established as a district from the original county in September 2015, Xinjian has become a vigorous new district with rapid development and giant potential. The District owns an area of 2193 square kilometers, administering 18 townships/towns, 276 administrative villages, with total population of nearly 700 thousand. Xinjian District is located in the strategic superposition place of the Yangtze River Economic Belt, Poyang Lake Ecological Economic Zone and large Nanchang Metropolis Circle, it is adjacent to the provincial financial CBD Honggutan District, only 15-min drive to Jiangxi Provincial and Nanchang Municipal Administrative Centers, and it is the core triangle of provincial administration and business.

Wanli Administration

Wanli District is situated at the northwest of Nanchang, connects to Xinjian District and Honggutan District in the southeast, links with Anyi County in the west, and adjoins to Yongxiu County and Ganjiang New District in the north. It has regional area of 238 square kilometers, with the landform of “70% mountains, 5% waters, 15% farmland, and 10% roads and manors”, and administers 4 towns, 2 sub-district offices and 1 management office, with permanent population of 115 thousand. Nanchang Meiling Management Area was established in 1969, and was changed name to Wanli District in 1981, and was upgraded to Wanli Administration in 2020.